The final version of Blue Book was published

On the 23rd of September 2016, the Financial Mechanism Committee approved the Regulation on the implementation of the European Economic Area Financial Mechanism 2014-2021 and the Regulation on the implementation of the Norwegian Financial Mechanism 2014-2021.

The regulations provide the general rules governing the EEA Financial Mechanism 2014-2021, respectively the Norwegian Financial Mechanism 2014-2021.

The final version of the "Blue Book" has also been published, a document containing the priority sectors and the areas of related programs, for the EEA and Norwegian Grants 2014-2021. The document has been completed after a period of several months of public consultation.

For the period 2014-2021, the financial mechanisms maintain the support of economic and social cohesion in Europe as objectives, by economic growth and sustainable development and aim to further contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities within the European Economic Area and to the strengthening of bilateral relations between the Donor States (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) and the Recipient States by means of financial contributions in 5 priority sectors, such as:

  • Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness
  • Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction
  • Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy
  • Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms
  • Justice and Home Affairs.

More information about the Blue Book and the new Regulations can be found here:


28 September 2016